Kiev starts reforms … by changing city names

0 77


April 13, 2015
Translated from Russian by Krisitna Rus

After the Verkhovna Rada’s adoption of a law banning Communist symbols, the ban also extends to the current names of a number of settlements. Thus, in the next six months, 25 Ukrainian cities and villages will receive new names.

Back in 2009 there was already a push to rename the following settlements, which obtained their current names during the USSR: 

Artemovsk (Lugansk region) may get the name of Katerinovka
Artemovsk (Donetsk region) – Bakhmut
Artemovo (Donetsk region) – Nelipovsk
Dzerzhinsk (Donetsk region) – Shcherbynovka
Dneprodzerzhynsk (Dnepropetrovsk region) – Kamensk
Dnepropetrovsk – Sycheslav or Dnepr
Kirovograd  -Yelisavetgrad
Kirovsk (Lugansk region) – Golubovsk
Kirovskoe (Donetsk region) – Klenovoe
Kotovsk (Odessa region) – Birsula
Krasnoarmeysk (Donetsk region) – Grishin
Kuznetsovsk (Rovno region) – Virash
Novomoskovsk (Dnepropetrovsk region) – Samar
Ordzhonikidze (Dnepropetrovsk region) – Pokrovsk
Pervomayskoye (Lugansk region) – Aleksandrovka
Pervomayskoye (Nikolaev region) – Bogopol
Pervomayskoye (Kharkov region) – Likhachovo
Pervomaisk (Dnepropetrovsk region) – Shakhterskoye
Sverdlovsk (Lugansk region) – Dolzhansk
Torez (Donetsk region) – Chistyakovoye
Tsyuryupinsk, (Kherson region) – Oleshki
Chervonograd (Lvov region) – Kristinopol
Shors (Chernigov region) – Snovsk
Yuzhnoukrainsk (Nikolaev region) – Konstantinovsk
Yunokommunarsk (Donetsk region) – Bunge

- Advertisement -

__ATA.cmd.push(function() { __ATA.initDynamicSlot({ id: 'atatags-1476137431-60042fa80ac41', location: 120, formFactor: '001', label: { text: 'Advertisements', }, creative: { reportAd: { text: 'Report this ad', }, privacySettings: { text: 'Privacy settings', } } }); });
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.