Five countries announce flight ban to Kurdistan Regional Government in northern Iraq

0 90

September 27, 2017 – Fort Russ News – Paul Antonopoulos

The Iraqi Civil Aviation Authority has issued flight suspensions to the Kurdistan region to begin on Friday following Monday’s unconstitutional independence referendum, as Fort Russ News reported earlier today

- Advertisement -

In support of the Iraqi Civil Aviation Authority’s suspension, Jordan, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt and Lebanon will ban all flights from their countries reaching the Kurdish region in northern Iraq.

Rather than a flight ending in the Kurdish regions, passengers will be able to get connecting domestic flights to either Baghdad or Najaf to complete their travels.

The harsh reaction comes after the Iraqi federal government’s warning to the autonomous Kurdish government to not conduct an unconstitutional independence referendum on Monday, in which it did so and overwhelmingly won.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.